High-­Waisted

High-­waisted shorts for the hot summer heat!

I don’t know about you, but the moment high­-waisted bottoms came back as a fashion trend, I’ve gotten on board and haven’t gotten off since.

A majority of my bottoms, which ranges from shorts, skirts, jeans to trousers, are most likely high­-waisted. For this outfit, in particular, I paired my favorite loose high­-waisted shorts with my pink and white pinstripe button-up. I tucked in the bottom of my shirt for a more polished look. The sleeves on the button-up are pinned back with a strap so they  aren’t constricting like a formal button-­up. The length of the sleeves eliminates the need  for a cardigan (in the case of extremely air­ conditioned places like the MTA trains or restaurants). I  find that adding a button­-up with these denim shorts make it more casual and preppy.

Adding to the preppy vibes, I wore my mini brown leather backpack and brown loafers. Honestly, the only thing missing from this outfit to make it look like I came back from the country club is a knit sweater wrapped around my neck, but ain’t nobody got time for that!

Tip #1: When wearing anything high-­waisted, it can accentuate your waistline. So I suggest pairing your bottoms with a crop top or tuck in any normal shirt you have.

Tip#2: If I ever learned anything from my eighth­-grade earth science teacher, it was to make sure your belt and shoes matched (we learned about rocks and topography of course, but this  was more important). Instead of a belt, I made sure all my accessories matched. As you can see  my backpack and loafers are similar shades of brown. By adding similar shades of leather they  work cohesively together, rather than against each other (unless that’s what you want).

Tip #3: When shopping, look for a more versatile piece. For me, I can also see myself wearing  the same button-­up to a day at the office. Just throw on a pair of black trouser pants, switch out  brown loafers for a pair of black pumps or ballet flats, and boom another outfit.

Here are some suggestions for your look:

Button­up:  J. Crew Button­up

Shorts:  Urban Outfitters Tommy Shorts

Loafers:  G.H Bass Loafers
The link to the loafers is the exact pair I wore!

Backpack:  Patricia Nash Backpack

Style By Sis hopes you found this blog post useful! Good luck on your high-waisted outfit!

4 thoughts on “High-­Waisted

Leave a Reply

