Back to School Style Swap Pt.II

In seventh grade, the cool trend was wearing plaid pajama pants tucked into a pair of Uggs. I attempted to leave the house one morning dressed like that and was sent back upstairs by my mother.  

“Why do you have to wear PJs to school just because everyone else does? You can plan a better outfit than that,” she reasoned as I grumbled under my breath. She had a point. Why was I compromising my individuality to wear something I didn’t even think was cute?

Following that mentality, I’ve always dressed up for school. Even when my peers commented on my fashion forward questionable style choices, I ignored the criticism. College was no different. People may have judged me for not committing to the unspoken ‘rolled-out-of-bed-to-make-it-to-this-8AM-lecture’ dress code. But the only person who cared the most about what I was wearing was me. Check out what I’d wear if I was heading back to school, as modeled by my dear friend Stef 🙂

dsc_0232

Outfit #1: The Reformed Hillbilly

I understand why people wear sweatpants to class. Sweatpants are cozy, and you can take a nap in them after class. I put Stef in overalls because they are just as roomy as a pair of sweats, but with an added level of cool.

TIP #1: What separates this outfit from a day-in-the-field to a day-on-campus is the light white button-up underneath. A white button-up is a staple piece, especially in post-grad life when you’re transitioning from casual to work wear.   

TIP #2: Opt for a shoulder bag instead of a backpack. It can help you look more mature.

dsc_0392

Outfit #2:

As a self-proclaimed girly-girl, wearing sneakers outside of the gym has always been a challenge for me. Lately, I’ve been finding new ways to style my sneakerhead habit.    

TIP #3: If you want your shoes to be the sole focus (heh) of your outfit, wear them with ankle length bottoms in order to draw more attention.

TIP #2: Sneakers naturally convey a sporty vibe, which people often try to combat with blazers and dresses. With this outfit, I’ve embraced it and paired the shoes with a varsity bomber. The black satin material makes it different from your typical jock jacket. 

dsc_0147Outfit #3:

These boots were made for walking. This is a nice outfit for a night out with your girls.

TIP #5: Rocking thigh high boots is all about proportions.  A loose top balances the form fitting boots. Shorts ensure that the boots don’t cut off your legs at an awkward place.

TIP #2: WERK IT. Own the fact you look like a cross between a gogo dancer and Violet from The Incredibles. Confidence is key and ya look good.

This concludes our style swap for some back to school looks! Style By Sis hopes you found these tips helpful! Stay tuned for more fashion and beauty posts.

We are heading to Generation Beauty NYC this weekend so let us know what kinds of content you would like to see!

3 thoughts on “Back to School Style Swap Pt.II

Leave a Reply

